Evidence-Based Decision-Making Course

I am breaking my “blogging fast” (self-imposed so that I will work on my poster presentation) because I will regret if April 20th comes and goes and I don’t write about this:

Dietitians of Canada’s Evidence-Based Decision Making – Online Course

I completed the course December 2006. It was hard work, but well worth the investment of time and money.

Among other things, I learned:

  1. How to ask a well-structured question
  2. Where to begin searching (surprise: it’s not necessarily Medline)
  3. What criteria to use when evaluating studies
  4. How to make the most of online learning and compensate for the lack of face-to-face interaction and regularly scheduled classes.

Depending on when you read this (and I hope it will be before midnight on April 20th) you may have time to register for the course.

If you have any questions or would like the longer version of how this course has changed my practice, please me email at:

eaeppler [at] gmail [dot] com. (As usual replace “at” with @ and “dot” with . and leave no spaces.)

Leave a Reply

