An alternative food guide

Recently, I came across an extremely concise food guide presented as a brief directive with two qualifying phrases: “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” This is how Michael Pollan begins his New York Times Magazine’s essay on what to eat for good health. In the remainder of this article, he elaborates on how the ideology of “nutritionism” has created a “conspiracy of confusion” about what we should we eat to be healthy and suggests nine unscientific (his own word) rules of thumb.

Pollan counters the reductionist-scientific perspective with guidelines grounded in culture, tradition and food-sense. I’m tempted to share excerpts of his witty and convincing prose, but will restrain myself– except I can’t resist including this statement from his rule about health claims: “Don’t take the silence of the yams as a sign that they have nothing valuable to say about health.”

Link to Unhappy Meals by Michael Pollan

5 responses to “An alternative food guide

  1. You’ve fixed it. But Bloglines is not working properly at all, not just for your site. I’ll keep on checking yours regularly.

  2. Bloglines woke up and saw you. That’s great. Now I’ve got to get back to working on some pt material for a man with a # of questions and some linguistic challenges for me.
    Are you in BC? What kind of work do you do?

  3. Hi, Gillian. Yes I am in BC. I work as a clinical dietitian in a large teaching hospital. I can tell from your email address you are somewhere in Canada, too.

    Our hospital has a collection of translated education materials? What language do you need?

  4. I hadn’t checked back to your comments so didn’t see that you had responded to me.
    I’m in Eastern Ont, and work independently. The pt spoke French which I also speak, but it was more his way of wording things that was giving me trouble, plus his accent. Anyway he’s done and I have no real certainty that I got through to him. He was one of my phone consults.

  5. Your posting today wouldn’t let me comment, so I’ve come back here again. I’ll look forward to checking your links. Thanks

Leave a Reply

